RoughRider Riley Bourbonnais selected to U.S. National Junior Select Team

Featured by Brian Werger, USHL

Team will compete at the World Junior A Challenge November 7-13

Chicago, IL – USA Hockey has announced the roster for the U.S. National Junior Select Team that will compete at the World Junior A Challenge in Langley, British Columbia from November 7-13. Among the 22-player roster are 20 players from the USHL.

The U.S. team has won the tournament in each of the last three years, defeating a team from Canada in all three gold-medal games. Two of the players on this season’s roster were part of the team the captured gold at the 2010 event – defensemen Brian Cooper of the Fargo Force and Jordan Schmaltz of the Sioux City Musketeers.

Players on the roster represent 10 different USHL teams, including four from both the Waterloo Black Hawks and Green Bay Gamblers and three from the Des Moines Buccaneers. Four of the USHL players on the team were drafted by NHL clubs in 2011 – Andy Welinski (Anaheim Ducks), Alex Broadhurst (Chicago Blackhawks), Tony Cameranesi (Toronto Maple Leafs), and Sean Kuraly (San Jose Sharks). All but one of the 20 USHL players on the team have commitments to NCAA Division I hockey programs following their USHL careers.

The roster includes some championship experience as goaltender Matt Morris helped lead the Dubuque Fighting Saints to the Clark Cup last season and was named Most Valuable Player of the playoffs.

Leading the U.S. National Junior Select Team is a trio of USHL coaches. Regg Simon of the Des Moines Buccaneers will serve as the team’s head coach, while Omaha Lancers Head Coach Bliss Littler and Waterloo Black Hawks Associate Coach Shane Fukushima are on the staff as assistant coaches. Also representing the USHL on the staff are equipment manager Darrin Flinchem (Indiana Ice) and athletic trainer Todd Klein (Waterloo Black Hawks).

The 2011 World Junior A Challenge is a six-team tournament. In addition to the United States, teams come from the Czech Republic, Russia, Sweden, Canada East, and Canada West

USHL Players on the 2011 U.S. Junior Select Team

Goaltenders: Ryan McKay (Green Bay Gamblers), Matt Morris (Dubuque Fighting Saints)

Defensemen: Chris Bradley (Youngstown Phantoms), Brian Cooper (Fargo Force), Ian McCoshen (Waterloo Black Hawks), Ethan Prow (Des Moines Buccaneers), Jordan Schmaltz (Sioux City Musketeers), Andy Welinski (Green Bay Gamblers)

Forward: Riley Bourbonnais (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Alex Broadhurst (Green Bay Gamblers), Tony Cameranesi (Waterloo Black Hawks), Austin Cangelosi (Youngstown Phantoms), Sam Herr (Green Bay Gamblers), Vince Hinostroza (Waterloo Black Hawks), Kevin Irwin (Des Moines Buccaneers), Sean Kuraly (Indiana Ice), A.J. Michaelson (Waterloo Black Hawks), Brett Patterson (Sioux City Musketeers), Ray Pigozzi (Des Moines Buccaneers), and Austyn Young (Sioux Falls Stampede)

March 31 Box
April 7 Box
April 4 Box
April 13 Box

Latest Videos From RiderVision
Ridertown USA Powered by Metro StudiosRiderwear Logos